Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

Lizzie of Langley Street

the perfect wartime family saga, set in the East End of London

Carol Rivers

(author)

Paperback
An absorbing 1920s saga set in London's East End.
In stock
SKU
9781471185212
Price £6.39 RRP £7.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

Free UK postage over £15
'One of the best saga writers of her time' ROSIE CLARKE

IN THE AFTERMATH OF WAR, CAN SHE SAVE HER FAMILY FROM RUIN?

Following her mother's untimely death, Lizzie Allen is facing desperate times. Her father Tom, crippled during WWI, has been left a broken and bitter man; her elder brother Vinnie is in serious trouble with the local hard man; her two younger sisters are in danger of being taken into care, and her sweetheart Danny is heading for Australia to seek his fortune.

Determined to keep her family together, yet unable to escape the poverty and degradation of the slums, heartbroken Lizzie is tricked into marriage by Danny's unscrupulous brother, Frank.

Can she escape her increasingly unhappy and violent marriage and save her family? And will she ever be reunited with her one true love, former barrow-boy, Danny Flowers?

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set at the heart of wartime London, from the bestselling author of MOLLY'S CHRISTMAS ORPHANS. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.

Praise for CAROL RIVERS:

'A gripping page turner' LEAH FLEMING

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' ELIZABETH GILL
More Information
Book publisherSimon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date22 Aug 2019
FormatPaperback
Pages464
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Lizzie of Langley Street
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?